Nostalgia

I remember one year having a fake fireplace for Christmas. It was this chintzy cardboard thing that was supposed to be what Santa came down through to deliver your present. And that year we had a fake tree as well, a glittery silver one. 

I know Christmas is not really about the decortions or even presents but I remember feeling cheated because we didn’t have a real fireplace or a real tree cut from the forest. 

This is why I have never liked fake trees for Christmas. It is a lot of work to go cut or buy a real tree and this is an industry which I am not sure is fully sustainable in our present world nor is it  a reasonable use of resources. But dammit I love the smells of Christmas and the tree is a big part of that. I will compromise this year and not even have a tree as there is no room but I will buy a wreath made of real boughs of pine. I certainly won’t have a fake fireplace. Fake fireplace 

Leave a Reply

